I actually love Microsoft!

Hey Guys,

I have been receiving a lot of messages from people that think I hate Microsoft whenever I post something negative on social media about them or call them out on a bad decision or deception. They often claim that I’m just ‘butt-hurt‘ because I was laid off. This couldn’t be further from the truth!

If you actually read between the lines you would realize quickly this is not the case and I actually love the company and want them to succeed. I spent 15 years of my life deeply invested in this company and its vast array of technologies. I’m a C# .NET developer for instance and know the operating system both client and server front to back and even know a lot of stuff that isn’t public knowledge (undocumented API’s, legacy scripts, etc). If Microsoft went out of business tomorrow a part of me and my skills would die along with it!

My goal is not to have Microsoft fail or to help burn it to the ground. My goal is to keep people informed on the bullshit they are peddling so people can fight back and vote with their keyboards and comments to help send a message to Microsoft that it needs to stop being like its competitors (Google, Amazon, Apple, etc) that it once condemned for actions they are committing now and go back to being the best damn software company in the world!

I honestly feel with all my heart that the new direction of the company under the leadership of Satya Nadella is the wrong one. I’m not saying every decision he makes is wrong but the big ones have been catastrophic from a customer trust perspective. They cut tens of thousands of jobs down sizing a company rapidly that grew up in a culture that more people and more ideas is always better and that money doesn’t matter when you have more then you can spend already.

They are re-shaping the company to focus on cloud services and advertisement rather then Operating Systems and best in class office and enterprise tools. I get that a lot of people think Microsoft is doing a good job headed in this direction but I am not one of them. My 15 years of experience working there taught me just how unique of a company it was and how talented and passionate people that worked their were!

When they started shoveling them overboard just to downsize the company rapidly and started shipping FREE operating systems filled with lies & spying along with massive nagware of course that concerned me deeply. This was a massive departure from what the company once believed in and supported. I still speak to my many friends that work there and they all informed me morale is at an all time low and many people are constantly looking for other jobs and people are taking on testing work when they are project managers & software developers because they laid off way to many key people. It’s frustrating to me because I have a lot riding on Microsoft even not being an employee since 15 years of my skill and life depend on their platform.

Before you judge me or dismiss me for simply being Butt-Hurt or hating Microsoft please take a moment and think about it from my perspective. My entire career and skill-set revolves around the amazing technology Microsoft created and I would not be happy in the slightest if they went out of business.

I call out their bullshit not because I’m mad but because I want customers to catch them sending out bad patches or using customers as lab rats or stealing information & turning settings on or installing software without explicit permission. I’ve even seen them putting dialog’s in saying you can’t do certain things until you update to Windows 10 when you actually just need to install Office which is a huge departure from the Microsoft I knew. It’s actually everything Microsoft used to condemn other companies for doing!

I remember being at company meetings where people would talk about customer trust and integrity and how it was a key tenant. That is why I’m shocked to see that 1 year after the company was handed to Satya Nadella and tens of thousands of testers were laid off now they are doing all of the things they condemned just the year before?

Weather I work at Microsoft or not I could care less but I do care very much about the direction of the company since my legacy and skill-set is tied to them and I need them to succeed. So everything I say and everything I do has one simple goal of educating people so they don’t get caught with there pants down in the hopes Microsoft is forced to realize what they are doing and hopefully at some point returns to the reputable, trustworthy company that they once were hopefully before it’s to late.

And to be completely honest during my last 2 years at the company it was already headed down hill fast during the Windows 8.1 project and I was already petitioning internally to help change things. I was making huge waves when developers and project managers wanted to skip over bugs that could lead to data loss simply because it would delay the project. I would put my ass on the line to make sure graphics drivers didn’t ship when transient issues were detected and everyone else wanted to just ‘let them slide’ until we received more customer data.

I might not work at Microsoft anymore but I still feel a duty to try and do everything I can with the influence that I have to ensure they realize what they are doing and get called out for it. I also have a responsibility to all of my followers (You) to warn them of anything negative I find and help them work around it before it causes them so much pain they simply abandon the platform!

I might not wake up and report to an office on the Redmond Microsoft Campus anymore or carry around a blue badge with my employee number on it but I still feel 100% obligated to continue testing the software and continue trying to make my experience better and ensuring that Microsoft is informed of the problems I encounter and you are informed of any workarounds I can come up with or discover along the way.

Thank you for taking the time to read this, I just wanted to get this off my chest since I was receiving a large volume of messages from people that simply dismiss everything I say as being ‘butt-hurt’ and wanting to destroy Microsoft when that is anything but the truth. I hope this helps at least one person understand the true motives behind everything I do. Just one person, and I’ll be happy.

Please, if you love Microsoft as much as I DO please do your part to help put them back on track instead of just dismissing their actions. You will ultimately help destroy the thing we’re trying to protect.

Support my cause and keep me going…

Interact with me…

Watch my videos…

 

7 thoughts on “I actually love Microsoft!

  1. Thanks for the blog post, it was great to hear it from your perspective. I hope Microsoft sorts things out. I only use a heavily stripped Windows 10 for playing games and reboot to Linux when I am done. Hopefully Microsoft wake up and listen to there customers and their employees current and ex alike.

  2. I know you are not butt-hurt or hate Microsoft and just try to help but in my opinion you are a little bit to obsessieve about it. sometimes 60% of your twitter involves Microsoft in some way, shape or form. so if someone opens their twitter timeline and sees your ten tweets about Microsoft they probably think “oh no, Barnacules is bashing Microsoft again” and resort to calling you butt-hurt or the like. i think it is good idea to call them out but maybe tone it down a bit.

    This is my advice and my opinion, just trying to give constructive feedback.
    Merry Christmas.

  3. I really hated Microsoft back in the day while I was still in school. Just seemed like it was always expensive and Gates seemed like a vilan character from a cartoon. But honestly in the last few years I really changed my mind with what they have done. That’s not saying I agree with everything they have done and changed but I certainly agree with most of your points simply put there really is no good alternative. They have come a long way in what windows will alow you to do compared to the past and at least it’s not apple. I appreciate your perspective and just hope we don’t see a trend towards apple’s way of doing bussines of “buy our expensive shinny products, then we’ll charge you for everything you’ll actually need to use them and we’ll decide for you on how, when and in what way we’ll let you use them”. Maybe I’m wrong but I’ll stick with Windows and Android for my day to day uses.

  4. “…grew up in a culture that more people and more ideas is always better and that money doesn’t matter when you have more then you can spend already.”

    That sounds like the Ballmer era. It does NOT sound like the Gates one. Gates required that headcount increases be justified at the highest levels – minimum Raikes, at that time. You may not like everything that’s transpired under Satya, but he didn’t take over a company that still dominated either the industry or even personal OSes. He had to make a bunch of tough cuts (Windows, Nokia, etc). I’m not saying he did all of them correctly, but he bought the company time to have things like the cloud take up the slack. WRT Windows in the consumer space, charging for a OS is no longer a viable model anymore. You can against thank Ballmer’s failure to curb Android or OS X for that. So how does MS sustain that business longer term without an advertising model, which by definition is more invasive. You sound like you want MS to just pretend it’s still 2000. I’d say Satya generally, and his Windows strategy specifically, should be given a couple years to see what they can do. Ballmer had a decade. So, it’s not too much to ask.

  5. Buddy I agree with you and totally get your perspective. I’m still currently a Blue Badge and have my own view. While I understand and agree with your perspective on where Satya is taking the company, my opinion is he is doing it because he is trying to reinvent the company and make Microsoft relevant again. I just wish that he put more thought into his approach. All this spying and lying and other things is (like you said) taking the Google, and Apple approach. Instead of jumping on their bandwagon and trying to turn Microsoft into them he should of uniquely redefined Microsoft. I’m sure he could achieve his vision that “Microsoft can empower everyone…blah blah blah” with a technology first approach rather than a purely “Mobile first, Cloud first” one. Most importantly it could be acheived (as you mentioned) without depending on spying, lying and advertisement. I’m in the Office 365 CoE and I have my own issues with how the Services business runs under KT. My problem with it is that it’s a business. So is Microsoft becoming another Accenture? I’ll save my rant for a separate blog and my apologies for the long comment. It’s just one of those discussions 🙂

  6. Buddy I agree with you and totally get your perspective. I’m still currently a Blue Badge and have my own view. While I understand and agree with your perspective on where Satya is taking the company, my opinion is he is doing it because he is trying to reinvent the company and make Microsoft relevant again. I just wish that he put more thought into his approach. All this spying and lying and other things is (like you said) taking the Google, and Apple approach. Instead of jumping on their bandwagon and trying to turn Microsoft into them he should of uniquely redefined Microsoft. I’m sure he could achieve his vision that “Microsoft can empower everyone…blah blah blah” with a technology first approach rather than a purely “Mobile first, Cloud first” one. Most importantly it could be acheived (as you mentioned) without depending on spying, lying and advertisement. I’m in the Office 365 CoE and I have my own issues with how the Services business runs under KT. My problem with it is that it’s a business. So is Microsoft becoming another Accenture? I’ll save my rant for a separate blog and my apologies for the long comment. It’s just one of those discussions 🙂

Leave a Reply

